Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol I

Redwine Eardwrecca

Massively Overpowered asked, “What MMO gets you exploring?”, and that got me thinking – back to the good times I had in Turbine’s Middle-earth.

As much as I savor the pixelscapes of virtual worlds, I don’t really consider myself an obsessive screenshotter, which explains why almost all my shots from The Lord of the Rings Online are of characters, combat, and roleplaying moments rather than scenery.

That was a mistake. Over two years in LoTRO, I must have had a hundred chances (at least) to build a photo album of Turbine’s beautifully realized vision of Tolkien’s world. But thanks to MOP and the commenters on that Daily Grind topic, I’ve decided it’s never too late.

So I blew the dust off my very first character – my Rohirrim exile, Redwine Eardwrecca (Old English for ‘one who is banished from his country’) – and got him back into the saddle for the first time in years. Only now, his lonely gallop across Middle-earth will be punctuated not by cutting down Orcs and Dunlendings, but by tracking down little-known, scenic corners of the game world.

I’ll feature these shots a few at a time, and hopefully make a series out of this. Here we go…

Ruined bath-house outside Ost Guruth (32.4S, 30.4W)

Ruined bath-house outside Ost Guruth

Lone-lands (32.4S, 30.4W)

I use the term loosely, but looking at this structure, I can’t imagine it as anything but a Roman bath. A Turbine reference to Arnor’s Roman connotations, perhaps?

Well, there are only so many Arnorian ruins I can recall that have water in them (Annúminas doesn’t count!), so there. If you are going to bathe here, just be careful – Orcs and predators lurk in the surrounding area, and with a town so near, there’s always that other sort of predator…

Campsite in the High Moor (33.9S, 8.1W)

Campsite in the High Moor

Trollshaws (33.9S, 8.1W)

For those roleplaying cross-country journeys to or from the Last Homely House, this little campsite is a welcome respite from the rigors of the road – and the predators of the High Moor.

It’s the last stop before Rivendell, or, if you’re bound for Eregion, before the perils of Giant Valley. Take some time to rest under the stars and drink in the highland air.

Pity Frodo never saw it, since he was unconscious from the Ford of Bruinen all the way to Elrond’s…

Abandoned Graveyard north of Bree (26.3S, 52.2W)

Abandoned Graveyard north of Bree

Bree-land (26.3S, 52.2W)

An infinitely less creepy, and undead-free, version of the Tranquil Gardens Cemetery from WoW’s Duskwood.

Discovering this place was an accident. I had set out to locate a neat little cluster of benches that I remembered lay somewhere between Bree and Hengstacer Farm. Seems my memory failed me, but just minutes out of Bree’s west gate, I did find this.

The graveyard has its own zone name, though it’s not marked on the map, which leads me to think it was once connected to a quest or two. Nothing here but headstones, a (sealed) cabin, and a single (rather talkative) mourner – ideal for roleplaying a funeral or a vigil.

Or maybe not, since the carnival grounds are right next door. You can see the streamers over the next rise. Seriously, is this Dia de los Muertos? Who throws revelries beside a graveyard anyway?

10 Responses to “Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol I”

  1. […] taken, in any game. That’s my very first LoTRO character (currently out of retirement for a photographic expedition across Middle-earth) facing the shade Captain Riamul amid the ruins of […]

  2. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I […]

  3. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through Vol […]

  4. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II and […]

  5. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, and […]

  6. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, and […]

  7. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, and […]

  8. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, and […]

  9. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, and […]

  10. […] lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, concludes. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, and […]

Shtay a while, and... talk!

