#NBI2015 Talkback Challenge #4: The Seven Gaming Sins

Firstly, mad props to the Newbie Blogger Initiative’s latest Talkback Challenge for reminding me of Morgan Freeman’s god-awesome recitation of the seven deadly sins in Se7en.

Now that that’s out of my system, on to the questionnaire…

Lust – Do you enjoy games more if they have scantily clad and “interestingly proportioned” avatars? Do you like playing as one of these avatars? Why or why not?

Yeah, yeah, there’s no accounting for taste. But I’m one of those male gamers that draws a line here. Too scanty and busty (Asian MMOs, I’m looking at you), and it interferes with my immersion.

Give me a game where female avatars are not all supermodels, and can rock practical, covered-up outfits, anyday. I hope Kingdom Come: Deliverance nails its realism in this area as well!

Gluttony – Do you have a game backlog of unfinished games but still buy new games regardless? Why or why not?

No. Just no. I’m busy enough these days that I don’t have time for more than one at a time, and the games I do choose to play are, more often than not, long, sprawling affairs – so adding to that queue does not compute.

One of my closest gaming buddies, however, is so guilty of this sin that he’s taken to watching ‘Let’s Play’ videos on YouTube to make up for lost time. Sounds like a smart move; I wonder how many others do that.

Greed – Do you enjoy hand outs in a game? Have you ever opted to NOT do an action / in game activity because the rewards were lacking? Why or why not?

As a roleplayer and selective completionist, rewards are seldom a reason for me to refuse quests.

It makes even less sense to not do quests in MMOs, because those, regardless of flavor, serve only one purpose: character progression. It first hit home for me in Age of Conan, when my Cimmerian, a former galley slave, turned down a task that had something to do with slavery. As I watched her walk away from the questgiver, I remember thinking, “Wait, is this going to change anything?”

It wasn’t. Roleplay or no, I realized I was only gimping my character gameplay-wise by passing on opportunities for XP, loot, and upgrades. And all the while, the world would go on turning, with me a few steps behind.

I still didn’t do that slaver’s quest, but that epiphany has stuck with me across the years.

Sloth – Do you ever leech or AFK in a party? Do you discourage others from attempting things that you feel are difficult? Have you ever seen someone that needed help, but decided not to help them? Why or why not?

No, no, and no.

If I have to AFK for longer than half a minute, I always sing out. And leeching? Isn’t that, like, sitting out boss fights and then claiming the loot? Who does that and not get booted?

I’m more tolerant of random AFKers than many, because there’s always the possibility their hardware or Internet sucks. I’ve been there. And I remember what it was like being yelled at in Diablo II sessions because I was still in the loading screen when folks had already zoned in, repaired their gear, sorted their stash, and regrouped by the town portal.

As for discouraging others, what exactly are we talking about here? Discouraging the party from taking on a boss because you keep wiping on it? Er, no. You’re likely to just, once again, get the boot. Besides, I myself must have hit the Watcher in the Water, back in LoTRO, ten times before I finally got into a PUG that downed it.

And come on, being slothful when it comes to helping people? Maybe if they ask rudely…

Wrath – Ever get angry at other players and yell (or TYPE IN CAPS) at them? Have you ever been so angry to stalk a person around in game and / or in the forums? Why or why not?

No. Next.

Envy – Ever felt jealous of players who seem to be able to complete content you can’t? Do you ever suspect they are hacking or otherwise cheating? Why or why not?

I have been guilty of this sin in two cases, both times in LoTRO and with the aforementioned gaming buddy.

One, he was almost never refused a spot in big PUGs, while for me, getting an invite was almost like winning the lottery. But that was because he was a Captain (who are always welcome) and I a Guardian (who are like steering wheels on cars – only one is needed). Who asked me to roll a tank instead of a healer/utility class…

Two, there was a time we were farming reputation drops in the Icereave Mines in Forochel, and he won rolls like, 20 times in a row. That’s not exactly random now, is it?

So, yeah. As for hackers, what’s the point of jealousy? I wouldn’t be jealous of a guy who takes the elevator to win at a stair-climbing competition.

Pride – Are you one of those people that demands grouping with other “elite” players? Do you kick players out of your team who you feel are under-performing? Why or why not?

Those who game with me know that I am, in point of fact, diametrically opposed to elitism in group content – especially the “X class, Y build only” kind, and the “EXP only” kind.

No MMO I know of has solved the old chicken-and-egg dilemma: if people will only group with you if you’re experienced, how the hell are you supposed to gain experience in the first place? It’s a community thing – a human thing.

Every time similar topics come up, I recall a Minstrel I met back in LoTRO’s Rise of Isengard who insisted on running instances in a DPS build; needless to say, he couldn’t perform to save his own life, and got repeatedly savaged by the party. Because, you know, Minstrels are damned healers, so stop making like a damned Hunter!

I’m happy to say I was the only one in the group who abstained. I only advocate giving underperformers the boot if they’re rude or unresponsive. Otherwise, no. Everybody else deserves the chance to learn.

4 Responses to “#NBI2015 Talkback Challenge #4: The Seven Gaming Sins”

  1. That buddy of yours doesn’t make any sense to me. He’s purchased the games and now just watches (the free) ‘Let’s Play’ videos so that he doesn’t have to play through them? Ooookay…

    Odd way to go about things but if that’s what he wants. :P

    • Uhuh. That’s the Steam Sale sorcery at work, isn’t it? Encourages the snack mindset – stock up first, and if they expire before you can get to them, just chuck them, no biggie.

  2. Just saying hello and letting you know I enjoyed your post and decided to follow you on Feedly. I look forward to reading more from you.

Shtay a while, and... talk!

