Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol III

The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through Vol II!

While exploring for this fortnight’s volume (I realized I’ve been doing this every two weeks, so why not make it a routine?), I found myself drawn back to the Lone-lands, out of a desire to hear its incomparable music once more. And then it came on, like I knew it would.

That soul-swellingly beautiful (and apparently unreleased) track I’ve been trying to hunt down for years, without luck.

Do you, dear readers, know something even the LoTRO forumites don’t? Have a listen to the track playing in the first half-minute of this video, and give me a holler if you know its title – or if it’s available for purchase!

Court of the Braziers (51.2W, 12.9S)

Court of the Braziers

North Downs (51.2W, 12.9S)

Opposite Minas Vrûn, on the other side of the road running east through the Kingsfell, lies this small but picturesque ruin I’ve given a most uninspired name to. You may have ridden through it on the way to Esteldín, if you didn’t go by stable master (but who doesn’t, right?).

It’s got the air of a forum, or a summer house of sorts, given that Minas Vrûn is described as a ‘city’ in deed text. The braziers seem to indicate more recent occupation, though. Perhaps goblins – one or two might be found here, along with wildlife.

As a scenic bonus, just behind where I was standing when I took this shot, the land slopes down to a creek that ends in a cute little horseshoe-shaped valley a ways west. Yup. Definitely a summer house, this.

Twin trees in the Weather Hills (40.7W, 32.2S)

Twin trees in the Weather Hills

Lone-lands (40.7W, 32.2S)

Serendipity strikes again! In the middle of nowhere north of the Forsaken Inn, just as I was thinking Redwine needed a rest, I came across a fine spot for doing just that.

Whatever ruin once stood here is long gone. All that’s left are a few scattered chunks of rubble, and these two big guys. Sure, they don’t look like they’d provide much in the way of shade, but you’re grateful for small comforts, aren’t you? As soon as you clear out the wolves and other nasties in the vicinity, that is…

The addition of that boulder at the back completes the scene, making this a nice place for some under-the-stars camping roleplay. Still can’t beat Candaith’s cozy little camp at Weathertop, though.

Midgewater Marshes lookout post (41.5W, 31.7S)

Midgewater Marshes lookout post

Lone-lands (41.5W, 31.7S)

This. This is perhaps my best discovery (or rediscovery? I can’t remember if I’ve been here before) since I started this series. It’s the only shot so far I’ve taken with Redwine in frame as opposed to the usual first-person view, in order to better show all the details.

Located on the very edge of the Weather Hills, atop an outcropping that offers a stunning vista of the Midgewater (you can even see the Marshwater Fort on a good day), this cozy little ruin seems a little too prettily laid out to be the work of time and the elements. You’ve got a ring of stone around a little stone marker, flanked by two trees. It’s fantastic for a spot of scenic camping.

But who would build anything here in the first place, and why the marker? Was this, as I suspect, an Arnorian lookout post? A relay station between the Marshwater Fort and Amon Sûl, perhaps? Something to explore if you’re roleplaying a Dúnedain, or an archaeologist type…

9 Responses to “Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol III”

  1. Coppertopper Says:

    ‘Beyond the Fifth Mountain’ by Opus Majestic on ‘Five’.

  2. […] The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II and III! […]

  3. […] Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, and […]

  4. […] Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, and […]

  5. […] Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, and […]

  6. […] Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, and […]

  7. […] Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, and […]

  8. […] Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, concludes. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, and […]

Shtay a while, and... talk!

