Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol IV

The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II and III!

This fortnight’s rangings took me back into Mirkwood, where I was struck by something I’ve, amazingly, paid no attention to before: Redwine’s level. I’ve become so used to riding around and snapping away with impunity, that drawing aggro from the Mirkwood mobs was a surprise.

He’s stuck at 65 – right where I left him when that was the level cap. He hasn’t even seen Enedwaith. Which means seeking out lost trails there and beyond may well have to fall to another steed in my stable, for expediency’s sake.

What I’d give for LoTRO to have something like the ‘spectator mode’ in multiplayer FPS, just for virtual tourism’s sake!

Even-rills (69.5W, 3.4S)

Even-rills

Evendim (69.5W, 3.4S)

These pools and falls stand out even in Evendim, one of the prettiest places in Turbine’s Middle-earth. According to deed text, they’re fed by melting ice, and so frigid even in summer that the Gauredain use them for contests of endurance. (Seeing as how you don’t take damage for swimming here, maybe someone should dare them to try Forochel’s Ice Bay?)

If you don’t mind the wolf-men nearby, the Even-rills makes a wonderful place for a nature hike. I especially like this little pond with the natural pillar in its center – not only does it look nice, it must be magical for there to be runoff, with nothing feeding it…

View of Dannenglor (55.8W, 11.2S)

View of Dannenglor

Mirkwood (55.8W, 11.2S)

Mirkwood is perhaps the worst place in LoTRO for screenshots. With the omnipresent fog, I can barely see where I’m riding sometimes, let alone spot interesting sights to snap. But I lucked out here after tearing through Dannenglor to check if there was a route up to the adjoining waterfall (there wasn’t, which is a shame for it’s pretty damned high!).

Across the western bridge, above the gorge the waterfall feeds, the ground slopes up to offer this view of the ruins. I can imagine scouts hiding along the treeline here, keeping watch on the merrevail…

Refuge of Edhelion (100.7W, 14.0S)

Refuge of Edhelion

Ered Luin (100.7W, 14.0S)

All Elves know this place, or would if they remember their starting quests. I’m only giving it a spot in my album because I don’t recall ever hearing of any roleplay taking place here, despite its sad beauty and deserted state (well, except for during festivals when an Inn League NPC – that’s her up there – appears to spoil the solitude).

I don’t recall ever being able to find the haunting piece of music that plays here, either. Combined with the overgrown, dilapidated state of this Elven ghost town, it creates an beautiful backdrop for Elves reflecting on – or lesser races discovering – the mysteries of centuries past.

8 Responses to “Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol IV”

  1. Although Mirkwood might be crappy for screenshots (I don’t have many, either), I always thought it was one of the more immersive regions of the game. I got so depressed hanging out there all the time back when it was the level cap area, but it was fitting in a way.

    • Agreed. I enjoyed the Haunted Inn and the Ashenslades – but then, I’m inordinately fond of forlorn, grimdarkish settings. Wasn’t a fan of Turbine’s Dol Guldur, though – the tumbled-down version in the Hobbit films was more like how I always thought it was.

  2. […] The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, and IV! […]

  3. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, and […]

  4. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, and […]

  5. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, and […]

  6. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, and […]

  7. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, concludes. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, and […]

Shtay a while, and... talk!

