Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol V

The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, and IV!

For this fortnight’s shots, I decided to attempt the dreariest regions in Turbine’s Middle-earth: Angmar and Forochel. My memory begged me not to, but I blew it off in the name of photojournalism and vaulted into the saddle… and, hours later, clip-clopped back to the stable covering my ears against its tut-tutting.

Until we see Harad, these two will have to qualify as LoTRO’s deserts. And serves me right for taking them on.

I may return at some point, search harder, and revenge myself upon my own memory. But for now, here’s the bounty of my latest tour.

Ruined elf-dome in Haudh Lin (91.8W, 19.9S)

Ruined elf-dome in Haudh Lin

Ered Luin (91.8W, 19.9S)

Not really a dome, but oh well. I haven’t the foggiest why this would be here. Maybe it’s linked to the nearby Talath Ondren, which itself has some nice Elvish ruins.

It’s a neat little setup for a wilderness rendezvous, or a staging ground for an infiltration of Kheledûl.

This is not the only dome in Ered Luin: the first one I found was at 92.0W, 18.5S, but it contained a rather talkative NPC, so go with this one if you need solitude. There might even be more that I missed.

Foggy pool outside Rath Teraig (94.2W, 23.2S)

Foggy pool outside Rath Teraig

Ered Luin (94.2W, 23.2S)

I don’t know if the fog is a result of weather, or if the zone is always like that. But I’m calling it as I see it.

The look of the land immediately surrounding the pool gives it a certain pastoral feel I didn’t expect to find much of outside the Shire. If not for it being so damned close to a huge goblin nest, this would be a nice place for Duillond-dwellers to chill.

Fort of Fumes in Duvuinen (27.3W, 2.0N)

Fort of Fumes in Duvuinen

Angmar (27.3W, 2.0N)

Hardly a ‘fort’, but the half-moon arrangement of those… vents?… around a large central one certainly has a defensible ring to it. (No, you can’t jump into the pool. That’s Redwine trying to up there.)

After concluding that outside of the Rift, Angmar has nothing to snap for this series, I doubled back to the easiest place on the eyes in this boring old zone: Duvuinen. The lake itself is probably worth an entry too – out in the center, with nothing in sight in all directions, you can just lie down in the shallow water and contemplate the starry skies.

Or at least you could, before Turbine plunked down a goddamn Roving Threat nearby…

5 Responses to “Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol V”

  1. […] The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, and V! […]

  2. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, and […]

  3. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, and […]

  4. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, and […]

  5. […] Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, concludes. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, and […]

Shtay a while, and... talk!

