Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol VII

The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, and VI!

So most of LoTRO’s servers are seeing the sunset, and I wasn’t surprised at all to learn that Imladris was among them. It was my first server, a small-town sort of server, and I remember folks saying proudly in world chat how they preferred these small communities to big-city ones like Elendilmir or Brandywine. But that also means they’re first in line to get the axe.

Imladris also happens to be the server Redwine dwells on – and the one all my friends who played LoTRO with me in the beginning have characters on. We have our own little kin, now full of mains and alts abandoned years ago by their owners – a graveyard on a dying world.

Redwine’s ride nears its end. Of course, I could just drop-kick his Rohirric ass onto another server, but it wouldn’t quite feel the same. With that, I think Vol X will be the last in this series. I’m going to enjoy myself in these last four entries. Onward!

Flowers of the Gloomglens (21.5W, 64.6S)

Flowers of the Gloomglens

Enedwaith (21.5W, 64.6S)

Yeah, I know you can find these flowers all over Enedwaith. But you know what? There’s a difference between flowers on flat ground and flowers on slopes. There’s a visual romance to the latter I can’t deny.

Nowhere else in Enedwaith do I see this romance so prominent than the Gloomglens. Not far from Maur Tulhau, you’ll find this knobbly patch of land – a tad claustrophobic thanks to all the trees and elevations, and swarming with bugans, but a pretty place in a pretty land, nonetheless.

Munudh Dûv (13.2W, 70.9S)

Munudh Dûv

Enedwaith (13.2W, 70.9S)

A short hop from Harndirion, this slice of paradise takes my cake for lakeside strolls. I’ve posted shots of lakes before, but this one blows them all out of their own water: I’ve never seen one so crystal-clear, and so picturesque, even in Evendim – the land of picturesque lakes.

And here, you get the added benefit of having no ruins, for once. Just mother nature. Some folks need to put together a kin and establish a frontier settlement here. Or, you know what, just designate this a AONB.

Now, if only someone would tell me what Munudh Dûv translates to. I thought it was Welsh, but Google Translate is coming up blank…

Ost Celebrant from the Wyrmdenn (54.7W, 28.3S)

Ost Celebrant from the Wyrmdenn

Great River (54.7W, 28.3S)

This is really not a place to be doing any casual roleplay in. The Wyrmdenn, in case the name wasn’t clear, is a nest of bloody avancs. But I just came for the sights, and boy, was I not disappointed.

The Great River was where I stopped playing LoTRO, but I did remember the lovely fields of Parth Celebrant with all the striking purple flowers. (It’s heather, isn’t it?) It was great seeing them again, but since I’d already snapped the flowers of Enedwaith, I decided to head further east into the Rushgore. And there, coming across this lonely little boardwalk with the swans, I turned around and got my picture.

Gondorian architecture doesn’t look so nice from a distance; what is it with all the candle-holder style towers? Still, through the light fog, you get a sense of the grandeur that was.

3 Responses to “Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol VII”

  1. […] The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, and VII! […]

  2. […] exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, and […]

  3. […] exiled Rider of Rohan, concludes. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, and […]

Shtay a while, and... talk!

