Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol IX

The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, continues. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII!

For this penultimate entry, I considered delving into Moria, but I don’t have to go back there to remember that the whole blessed place is a ‘lost trail’ in its own right. I figured I’d be finding something to screenshot around every other corner, and just end up stuck on which one to use. (Probably some corner of the Water-works. Always loved that place.)

So I chose three other zones I haven’t ridden through yet – none of which would involve me tramping through pitch darkness. Come to think of it, a man of the Rohirrim exploring Moria would be a delicious irony, given the lore has established that horses hate the place…

View from Saruman's front door (2.2W, 79.2S)

View from Saruman’s front door

Nan Curunír (2.2W, 79.2S)

I know – who the hell roleplays in Isengard, right? But I’m including this shot for the rainbow show alone. I figured I’d be wasting my time in Saruman’s backyard, only to find something I liked on his porch.

I’m not sure if I noticed it the first time I set foot here, but the different shades of smoke grabbed me. Clearly a reference to Saruman of Many Colors, no? Not what I was expecting from a place the novels’ author imbued with his own animosity towards industry.

The mere mention of roleplaying in Isengard reminded me of this RP initiative from some years back. Well worth a read for the contrarian element alone!

Campsite near the Bitter Stair (2.9W, 19.1S)

Campsite near the Bitter Stair

Misty Mountains (2.9W, 19.1S)

Here’s one of the vanilla LoTRO zones I never experienced, being a Premium player who happens to be exceptionally stingy with his Turbine Points. Therefore, I never experienced Helegrod either – apart from a short venture inside one of its wings during the couple of months I was an active subscriber.

Doesn’t mean I don’t acknowledge the zone’s beauty, however. It’s almost Forochel sans the foggy look, and the exterior of Helegrod itself is a thing to behold. This little camp sits in a snowy nook a short ride from the (itself dizzyingly scenic) Bitter Stair. I can easily imagine it used as a forward operating base for an assault on the Corcur, or for any RPed Helegrod raid.

You’ll have to share it with a pair of mute Dwarves, but who doesn’t prefer more company in such a cold and hostile land?

Flet near Brochos (69.3W, 17.5S)

Flet near Brochos

Lothlórien (69.3W, 17.5S)

I’ll say it: I don’t like Lothlórien. It’s no better than Mirkwood – the perpetual fairy fog and saturated look kills my attempts at decent screenshotting. I make do, though.

I’m aware that the Golden Wood is full of flets, and there seem to be a few different designs between them. This one, however, deserves special mention for its tight, train carriage-style layout (great for a small council!), as well as being unmarked on the map. A ‘lost trail’ indeed.

If only it was unoccupied! Would that LoTRO could adopt TESO’s murderous ways, and you could just punt that annoying Elf off the edge…

One Response to “Lost trails of LoTRO: Vol IX”

  1. […] The lonely ride of Redwine Eardwrecca, exiled Rider of Rohan, concludes. Retrace his hoofbeats from Vol I through II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, and IX! […]

Shtay a while, and... talk!

